This website uses cookies to store information on your computer. Some of these cookies are used for visitor analysis, others are essential to making our site function properly and improve the user experience. By using this site, you consent to the placement of these cookies. Click Accept to consent and dismiss this message or Deny to leave this website. Read our Privacy Statement for more.
Print Page | Contact Us | Your Cart | Sign In | Register

National Creditors Bar Association seeks to highlight the fantastic work our members and fellow industry representatives have done this year. These awards cover community service participation by our law firm members, outstanding State Creditors Bar Associations (SCBA), and impressive entities or people that represent and stand for the creditors rights industry. If you would like to nominate a SCBA, firm, person or entity that falls into one of those categories, read more below on award specifics and how to nominate. Please note, self-nominations are encouraged!

Nominations for the 2020 NCBA Community Service Award Are Now Open! See Below for Details.


Outstanding SCBA Award

The National Creditors Bar Association (NCBA) Outstanding SCBA Award is intended to recognize the SCBA which has best demonstrated a high level of activity within the legal community as well as within NCBA, and to recognize the challenges faced and surmounted.

Previous SCBA Award Recipients:

2014—The Commercial Lawyers Conference of New York; The Virginia Creditor Bar Association

2015—North Carolina Creditors Bar Association

2016—Connecticut Creditors Bar Association

2017—Maryland-DC Creditors Bar Association

2018—Texas Creditors Bar Association

2019—New York State Creditors Bar Association


NCBA Community Service Award - Nominations Now Open

The National Creditors Bar Association Community Service Award is intended to recognize the member firm that has best demonstrated an overall firm commitment to and implementation of activities for the betterment of its community. The recipient will be a firm that has given, as a firm or through a large percentage of individual employees, substantial time to its community (which can include pro bono representation). The Award will recognize firm-wide effort, not that of one individual within a firm. Nominees will be evaluated based on the level of commitment shown, not on the number of hours or dollars provided, so that small firms are as likely to receive the award as large firms (as shown by the variety of previous recipients).


The nomination should include an approximately 500 word description of the firm’s activities, the community impact, and any publicity (as in local newspapers or bar publications) resulting from the firm’s service. The recipient will receive an award and will be honored at the NCBA 2020 Fall Conference in Phoenix, Arizona. If you are proud of your firm’s community contributions, please submit your firm for nomination. Self-nominations are expected. Click here to submit a nomination. Questions? Please call the National Office at 202-861-0706.

Previous Community Service Award Recipients:

2005—Buckles & Buckles in Michigan

2006—McIntosh Law Firm in North Carolina

2007—Weltman, Weinberg and Reis Company in Ohio

2008—South & Associates in Kansas

2009—Morgan Bornstein & Morgan in New Jersey

2010—Trott & Trott in Michigan

2011—Litow & Pech in Iowa

2012—Hosto|Buchan in Arkansas

2013—Glasser and Glasser, P.L.C. in Virginia

2014—Couch Conville & Blitt in Louisiana; and Harris & Harris in Illinois

2015—Kohn Law Firm S.C. in Wisconsin

2016—Messerli & Kramer, P.A. in Minnesota; and Fenton & McGarvey Law Firm, P.S.C. in Kentucky

2017—Tobin & Marohn in Connecticut

2018—Bass & Associates, P.C. in Arizona

2019—Gurstel Law Firm, P.C.,  in Minnesota; and Keith D. Weiner & Associates, Co. LPA in Ohio


Donald Kramer Award

National Creditors Bar Association's annual Donald Kramer Award is presented to “someone whose efforts have made a substantial and lasting impact for the benefit of the credit and legal collection community.”  

Previous Donald Kramer Award Recipients:

2004—Dennis Hammond, DBA International

2005—Manny Newburger, Collection Industry Consultant

2006—Jim Balogh, Creator of Banko

2007—Jeffrey Bailles, National Association of Subrogation Professionals

2008—Sam Gerdano, American Bankruptcy Institute

2009—Michael Ginsberg, Kaulkin Ginsberg

2010—Steven Goldman, CLS, Inc.

2011—Richard Kamermann, Ford Motor Credit Corp.

2012—The House Financial Literacy & Economic Education Caucus

2013—no recipient

2014—The Honorable Annette M. Rizzo

2015—Stephanie Eidelman with insideARM

2016—The Conference of Chief Justices’ Committee on Civil Justice Improvements

2017—The American Bar Association

2018—Representatives Alex Mooney (R-WV) and Vicente Gonzalez (D-TX)

2019—Joann Needleman, Clark Hill PLC, and past-President of NCBA


Member of the Year Award

The National Creditors Bar Association (NCBA) Member of the Year Award is intended to be presented to a member who has demonstrated extraordinary commitment to the NCBA vision.

Previous Member of the Year Award Recipients:

2018—Manuel H. Newburger, Barron & Newburger, P.C.

2019—Tomio Narita, Simmonds & Narita LLP


President's Award

This award goes to someone who demonstrates leadership within the NCBA community.

Previous President's Award Recipients:  

2007—Harvey Sharinn, Sharinn & Lipshie, PC

2008—Wayne Babovich, Babovich & Spedale

2009—Thomas Canary, Mapother & Mapother, PSC

2010—Adam J. Olshan, Law Offices of Howard Lee Schiff, PC

2011—Michael H.R. Buckles, Buckles & Buckles, PLC 

2012—June Coleman, Kronick Moskovitz Tiedeman & Girard; and Tomio Narita, Simmonds & Narita LLP

2013—Eric Berman, Eric M. Berman, P.C. (awarded posthumously)

2014—Brenda Majewski, Kohn Law Firm, S.C. 

2015—Yale Levy, Levy & Associates, LLC; Steve Markoff, Markoff Law; and Brent Yarborough, Zarzaur & Schwartz, P.C.

2016—Nathan Willner, Lyons, Doughty & Veldhuis, P.C.

2017—Alane Becket, Becket & Lee LLP; and Mark Groves, Glasser & Glasser, P.L.C.

2018—Weltman, Weinberg & Reis, Co., LPA

2019—Robin Cole, National Creditors Bar Association



Nominations for the 2020 Community Service Award is now open; the remaining awards will begin in August 2020.  If you have questions, please e-mail Jim Podewitz at or contact the NCBA National Office at 202-861-0706 and ask for Nicola. The NCBA Awards Committee will select the winner of each award at the beginning of September 2020.

GDPR Compliance Statement:

This website is targeted only toward those located in the U.S. National Creditors Bar Association requests that individuals please refrain from sending personal information to the association while they are located in the European Union countries.



Contact US

© Copyright 2019 National Creditors Bar Association TM. All rights reserved.
Phone 202.861.0706
Email Us

Correspondence: National Creditors Bar Association National Office, 8043 Cooper Creek Blvd, Suite 206, University Park, FL 34201